Friday, July 6, 2007

Claude Debussy - The Complete Works for Piano (1995)

piano: Walter Gieseking


Disc 1

  • Préludes: Book I

  • Préludes: Book II

Disc 2

  • Pour le piano

  • Estampes

  • Images: Set I

  • Images: Set II

  • Children's Corner

Disc 3

  • 12 Études

  • Masques

  • D'un cahier d'esquisses

  • L'isle joyeuse

  • La plus que lente

  • Le petit nègre

  • Berceuse héroique

  • Hommage à Haydn

Disc 4

  • Suite bergamasque

  • Danse bohémienne

  • Rêverie

  • Mazurka

  • Valse romantique

  • Deux Arabesques

  • Nocturne

  • Danse (tarantielle styrienne)

  • Ballade

  • Fantaisie for piano and orchestra*

*Orchester des Hessischen Rundfunks

Download: [Part 1], [Part 2], [Part 3], [Part 4]


1 comment:

  1. In the classical tradition but forever avant garde, the music of Debussy is extraordinary enough in itself, and here it is played by Walter Gieseking who was a very unusual and by many accounts difficult man, but a pianist of genius. His Beethoven is superb but it's the complete Debussy recordings that might be his finest work. His live recordings are especially noted for an almost rock'n'roll attitude to leaving in the occasional wrong note as long as the spirit is right, but his studio recordings are also hugely expressive and rich in subtlety and feeling. I recommend them to anyone interested in expanding their listening horizons.